When a request to create a Team, Site, Viva Engage Community, is made the Microsoft Graph is often used by the app, this is not the same as making the request via Microsoft.
All the changes you have laid out in a Service Definition configuration will also be applied, not just creating the Site/Team, but adding channels, lists, applying PnP templates or updating a SharePoint list directory.
A failure can occur at any stage in the provisioning, the job will pause at the point of failure. This may mean that the Team or Site has been created and access granted but the channels or layout of the Site has not been applied.
When a workspace is requested there are a number of reasons why the request could fail.
- There is an issue in your M365 tenant
- The Service Definition is not configured correctly
- There is a temporary delay or issue
- A duplicate request is made
- Validation failures in the request, for example, the name is to long or has special characters that are not supported
- PnP is invalid
The standard Teams email notification that Microsoft send about the Team has been created, can be turned off to prevent confusion.
Notification emails can be sent from the app, when everything has been created and when a failure occurs.
Read more in 'What are Notifications and How To Enable them?'
What to do when a Job Fails
Whatever the reason for failure, check the job queue to find the cause of the error and resolve it to complete the creation.
If the create job remains failed it will prevent actions, lifecycle actions and other options being used.
Investigate

Use the show Trace button in the job queue, to look at what has been created and the cause of the failure.
Check the Knowledgebase for known errors and their resolve, use the search and include relevant parts of the error.
In the example above, we can see the Team could not generate the URL, it is using our tag {EncodedTitle}, but there has been a typo in the Service Definition setup.
Replay the Job
Once issues are resolved, the job can be replayed in the job queue .
This will re-run the request and continue on if the issue is resolved.
For some errors like the incorrect tag. The request will not pick up the change on replay, in these cases, delete the job, fix the error and make a new request.
Delete the Job
If a Create job is deleted from the job queue, all elements that have been created will remain in M365 but the Team/Site will not be available in the app directory.
This means it will not be managed going forward.
For the majority of requests they should be replayed. There are exceptions, for example if the request is a duplicate or contains characters that fail validation.
These can be deleted from the Job queue using the bin icon.
This is an example of a duplicate request, this can be deleted from the job queue using the delete option. Message the requestor and advise them this already exists and to create something more unique or join the existing community.